Back to the Future

A young man is accidentally sent 30 years into the past in a time-traveling DeLorean invented by his friend, Dr. Emmett Brown, and must make sure his high-school-age parents unite in order to save his own existence.

Today, October 21st 2015, is the day that Marty McFly time-travels to in Back to the Future Part 2. I asked for the Back to the Future box set on DVD when I was about eleven, because the films were always on around Christmas time and I never got the chance to sit and watch start to finish.

But time travel was always awesome. And Back to the Future still inspires absolutely childish excitement every time I watch. And I feel like I’ve been waiting for today my entire movie-loving life. And it’s not like the date has come out of nowhere – but I have no idea how to celebrate.

Back to the Future

Naturally, I’ll be watching all three films throughout the week. They aren’t quite important to my childhood as we’ve established The Lord of the Rings as being, but there’s history here. It ranks incredibly highly in viewing counts, trivia knowledge, and repeat enjoyment. It is, quite possibly, my most watched film. I’m constantly disappointed by the “10 things you never knew…” clickbait articles about the franchise, because I know all about the Eric Stoltz stuff and more. I still love the humour, the jokes made funny by the time difference – and, of course, wondering if I was in Marty’s situation… I’d nail Lea Thompson for sure.

There are impactful, important, and (excuse the pun) timeless films, but none of them can hold a candle to Back to the Future among my own favourite films.

2 thoughts on “Back to the Future”

Leave a Reply

