Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope

Luke Skywalker joins forces with a Jedi Knight, a cocky pilot, a wookiee and two droids to save the universe from the Empire’s world-destroying battle-station, while also attempting to rescue Princess Leia from the evil Darth Vader.

I have no memory of an edition of A New Hope when it was just called Star Wars. I also don’t recall ever seeing Han shoot first. Such are George Lucas’ revisions, which are not so damaging as the circlejerk loves to preach, but instead make me question my own experience of the film.

Star Wars in general is a funny one for me. I would describe myself as a dedicated fan of the cinematic franchise. And yet, until this week, watching the original trilogy back-to-back wasn’t something I’d done in around three years. Naturally, since starting this project, I’ve had little time for off-list films, and the ones on the list have been selected at random (for the most part) – but it’s strange that, even before February 2015, it was at least 24 months since my last foray into a galaxy far, far away…

Star Wars A New Hope

It’s not, as I’ve said countless times, the film responsible for my love of film. But it is a relic from my childhood, when my dad owned all three original films on VHS in a Darth Vader collector’s box. So I’m desperate to come across as a die hard fan. I’m going to see The Force Awakens at midnight tomorrow. I have Star Wars toys on my desk at work. During a particularly homo-erotic moment, I bought myself a cardboard cutout of Han Solo, despite the availability of a gold bikini-clad Leia alternative. My memories of the franchise, trilogies old and new, are incredibly fond. So perhaps that’s why I try and avoid watching. I don’t want the series to become stale, or even predictable. I don’t want to be able to quote it. It’s a lovely memory I’m quite happy leaving for (mostly) my childhood.

One thought on “Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope”

Leave a Reply

