Toy Story 3

The toys are mistakenly delivered to a day-care center instead of the attic right before Andy leaves for college, and it’s up to Woody to convince the other toys that they weren’t abandoned and to return home.

toystory3Sometimes, I think to myself, “Man, I wish I had been a kid when _________ came out.” That could be a film, TV show, book, video game… Whatever. But then I realise, I was a kid when Toy Story came out, and I was (almost) an adult when Toy Story 3 came out. I grew up with one of the best animated trilogies of all time, and it grew up with me.

Fortunately, time heals all wounds, except the ones that Pixar is responsible for. Toy Story 3 absolutely has a place on the list of things that I’m not ashamed make me cry. Others include:

  • Any time I think about Robin Williams
  • The look in my father’s eyes when I borrow money
  • Plucking my pubic hair (I imagine – I try not to do this one)

Here’s a fun way to ruin your day. Have a few strong drinks, and watch Toy Story 3 alone. For additional despair, you might also want to try watching Susan Boyle’s audition for Britain’s Got Talent, or the climactic execution scene in Green Mile (oh God, please tell me that’s not on the list – I’m just not strong enough!).

I think Toy Story 3 has carved out a pretty good spot for itself on the list. Sure, a lot of it has to do with the sixteen-year buildup and damn good timing. But it’s also funny and emotional as a standalone film, and certainly one of the best of all time.

One thought on “Toy Story 3”

Leave a comment